course »Grief and Loss When Working with Foster Youth

Date: 6/22/2017, 10:00 am—1:00 pm
County: Solano County
Location: Vallejo
Sponsor: Alternative Family Services (AFS)
Phone: (916) 254-5200
This training addresses the feelings of grief and loss children may experience when removed from their home and placed in the foster care system. Stages of grief and loss are described and include denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance, and guilt. Strategies for preparing care givers on how to work with children who are experiencing grief/loss will be discussed. Presenter will in detail explain the difference between grief experiences verses trauma responses.

  1. Participants will receive a better understanding of stages of grief and review a variety of reactions that may surface as an individual tries to make sense of how a loss affects him or her.
  2. Participants will be able to identify the various stages of grief; Denial, Bargaining, Depression, Anger and Acceptance.
  3. Understand the complexities of grief and loss through a child’s/youths perspective.
  4. Participants will understand what grief looks like from a child development perspective and how to support the youth in normalizing the child’s behavior and feelings.